The Hockey Writers’ Club Youth Awards known as “The Higgins Awards” are designed to encourage young hockey players and to acknowledge their contribution to hockey through their skill, involvement and character.  Past winners include Ashley Jackson and Maddie Hinch, but these are not ‘player of the year’ awards. Character and inspiring others are just as important as success and playing ability.

Jamie Kingstone, Head of Hockey, nominated both Molly Redgrove and Archie Winter for the U18 national award.  Despite not winning their respective category they were highly commended.

Charles Randall, chairman of the Hockey Writers Club wrote:

“The Hockey Writers Club would like to commend Molly Redgrove and Archie Winter for their nomination for the Higgins Awards.  This long-established national honour aims to recognise and encourage young hockey players for their contribution to the sport and for their inspiration to others.”

“The judges were impressed by the high calibre of candidates. Molly and Archie are clearly a credit to Framlingham College and to the coaching staff in what is clearly a very good hockey environment. We wish them every success in the future.”

0/5 (0 Reviews)

Where Next?